Entering the Unknown

I won (long story) a Barnes and Noble gift card for Christmas and yesterday I finally made it into the store to use it.  If you are like me this is a gruelling process of trying to find just one book to find.  Well I found “it” and bought, Stephen Ambrose’s book Undaunted Courage, which is the story of Meriwether Lewis and his journey with William Clark to investigate the Louisiana Purchase.

At the beginning of the book is a lengthy quote from Thomas Jefferson describing Lewis. 

“Of courage undaunted, possessing a firmness & perseverance of purpose which nothing but impossibilities could divert from it’s direction…”

As I read this I thought about Abraham as God told him to leave his family and country and to go in faith to a place he did not know for a reason God had not fully told him.

And then I wondered, would I have this kind of faith?  The faith to leave behind so much to embark on a journey that could lead me to untold places.  Is this not what God has called each one of us to.  To enter into a life with Him that we allow Him to lead, thus sometimes leading us into places we would not normally go.  And if this is true would God describe me the way Jefferson described Lewis, as a man, “Of courage undaunted.” 

Here is to each one of us not shying away from journeys and struggles that may take us into unknown lands, with a God who knows exactly what He is doing. 

Leave a Reply

